Common European Framework CEFR)


The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) plays a central role in language and education policy worldwide. It has growing relevance for language testers and examination boards, helping to define language proficiency levels and interpret language qualifications.

The Common European Framework divides learners into three broad divisions which can be divided into six levels


A: Basic User

A1 – Breakthrough

A2 – Waystage

B: Independent User

B1 – Threshold

B2 – Vantage

C: Proficient User

C1 – Effective Operational Proficiency

C2 – Mastery

Adobe Acrobat Dokument 46.0 KB

Do you want to prepare for a specific examination?

Please contact us to arrange for a non-committal consultation.

We look forward to welcoming you.